Home >> News

Nitin Gadkari Inaugurates 20 Ganga Ghats in Kanpur and Bithoor

  • Uttar Pradesh, August 14, 2018: Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, CM Yogi Adityanath, and other dignitaries inaugurated 20 Ghats in Kanpur on Monday. Also, an industrial effluent treatment plant in Jajmau and the complete tapping of Sisamau Nala by October 2018 was also announced during the program.

    Union Minister for Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation (MOWR, RD & GR) Shri Nitin Gadkari inaugurated the newly constructed and restored Ghats in Kanpur and Bithoor in a ceremony at Chandrasekhar Azad University in Kanpur on 13th August 2018.

    Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Yogi Adityanath, MP Kanpur, Shri Murli Manohar Joshi, MOS, MOWR, RD & GR, Dr. Satya Pal Singh, UP Urban Development Minister Shri Suresh Khanna, MP Kanpur (Dehat), and other dignitaries graced the occasion.

    On the occasion, Hon'ble Minister Shri Nitin Gadkari briefed public about the Namami Gange projects and said, "On completion of Sisamau and Jajmau projects, the two hotspots of pollution in Kanpur, people of Kanpur and the Ganga will benefit greatly."

    He also encouraged people to become a part of Namami Gange Program and participate in cleaning of river.

    CM Yogi Adityanath expressed his confidence to complete all projects before the beginning of Kumbh. This will ensure clean Ganga to all.

    The two biggest pollutants of Ganga - Industrial waste water from Jajmau and domestic Sewerage from Sisamau Nala are being taken care of, by National Mission for Clean Ganga. To tackle industrial pollution in the Ganga, from Jajmau, NMCG has approved a 20 MLD Common Effluent Treatment Plant (CETP) at an estimated cost of Rs. 554 crore (phase-1) for the treatment of effluent from tanneries. Project of Jajmau will become a boon to the people living in Kanpur and downstream Ganga. It will also make significant contribution in cleaning of Ganga.

    The dignitaries inaugurated 20 Ghats including Gola Ghat, Sarsaiya Ghat, Bhairav Ghat, Guptar Ghat, Koyala Ghat, Makjain Ghat, Sidhnath Ghat, Bhagwatdas Ghat, Massacre Ghat, Parmat Ghat, Bhairav Ghat, Chappar Ghat, Mahila & Tulsi Ram Ghat, Pandav Ghat, Pathar Ghat, Panchlameshwar Ghat, Sita Ghat, Bharat Ghat, Kaushalya Ghat and Tuta Ghat. Development of 4 Ghats and 3 crematoria are under progress and will be inaugurated soon.